Drishti is a point of focus where the gaze rests during asana and meditation practice. This focus, in which the eyes should always stay soft and unstrained, aids concentration and pratayahara, or withdrawal of the senses. Each yoga pose has a specific drishti, which also aids in alignment.

1/ Angusta ma dyai - thumbs
2/ Broomadhya - between the eyebrows
3/ Nasagrai - tip of the nose
4/ Hastagrai - hand
5/ Parsva - to the side (Left)
6/ Parsva - to the side (Right)
7/ Urdhva - up to the sky (also called antara, which means “within”)
8/ Nabi Chakra - to the navel
9/ Padayoragrai - toes


He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to stand and walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying.

He who has a why to live for can bear almost any how.

— Fredrich Nietze